Elected Representatives

The elected officials listed here serve you. The Dare County Democratic Party encourages you to contact them about issues that matter to you.

Although the contact information below is thorough, not every official has information about every form of contact. If you have trouble contacting a particular official, email us at info@daredemocrats.com, and we’ll try to connect you.

Roy Cooper, III
Governor (D)
Phone: 919-814-2000
Email: https://governor.nc.gov/contact/contact-governor-cooper
Website

Mark Robinson

Lieutenant Governor (R)
Phone: 919-814-3684
Email: https://ltgov.nc.gov/contact-0
Website

Our congressional representatives have offices within the state as well as in Washington. You can find all office addresses, plus phone and fax numbers, at Contacting Congress.

Richard M. Burr
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-3154
Fax:  202-228-2981
Email:  https://www.burr.senate.gov/contact/email
Website

Thom Tillis
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-6342
Email:  https://www.tillis.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/email-me
Website

Greg Murphy
U.S. Representative for North Carolina, District 3 (R)
Phone: (202) 225-3415
Email Greg
Website

Bob Steinburg
NC Senator, District 1 (R)
Phone: 919-715-8293
Email: Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net
NCGA website

District 1 (R)

Bobby Hanig
NC Representative, District 6 (R)
Phone: 919-733-5906
Email: Bobby.Hanig@ncleg.net
NCGA website

District 6 (R)

Robert Woodard, Sr.
Chairman, District 2 – Nags Head, Colington, KDH
Email: woodard@darenc.com

Wally Overman
Vice-Chairman, District 1 – Roanoke Island, Dare Co. Mainland
Email: wallyo@darenc.com

Ervin Bateman
Commissioner, District 5 – At Large
Email: ervin.bateman@darenc.com

Danny Couch 
Commissioner, District 4 – Hatteras Island
Email: dannyc@darenc.com

Steve House
Commissioner, District 3 – Kitty Hawk, Duck, Southern Shores
Email: steve.house@darenc.com

Rob Ross
Commissioner, District 2 – Nags Head, Colington, KDH
Email: Rob.Ross@darenc.com

Jim Tobin
Commissioner, District 1 – Roanoke Island, Dare Co. Mainland
Email: Jim.Tobin@darenc.com

Mary Ellon Ballance, Chairman
Represents District 4 (Hatteras Island)
Term: 2020-2024
Cell:  252-305-2685
Email Mrs. Ballance

Margaret Lawler, Vice-Chairman
Represents District 3 (Kitty Hawk, Southern Shores, Duck)
Term:  2018-2022
Phone:  252-261-5482
Email Mrs. Lawler

Susan Bothwell
Represents District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 2020-2024
Phone: (919) 696-4873
Email Ms. Bothwell

Joe Tauber
Represents District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 2018-2022
Phone: 410-491-9735
Fax: 252-255-0631
Email Mr. Tauber

Frank Hester
Represents District 1 (Mainland & Roanoke Island)
Term: 2018-2022
Cell: 252-489-0847
Email Mr. Hester

Carl Woody
Represents District 1 (Mainland & Roanoke Island)
Term: 2020-2024
Call: 252-305-9265
Email Mr. Woody

David Twiddy
Represents District 5 (at large)
Term: 7/01/16 – 11/30/20
Phone: 252-473-3827 (h); 252-473-7533 (c)
Fax: 252-473-2778
Email Mr. Twiddy

Don Kingston, Mayor
Phone: 252-255-4817
Email: don.kingston@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Monica Thibodeau, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-261-6278
Email: monica.thibodeau@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Sandy Whitman
Phone: 252-715-1186
Email: sandy.whitman@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Rob Mooney
Phone: 646-489-4458
Email: rob.mooney@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Nancy Caviness
Phone: 252-255-8124
Email: nancy.caviness@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Ben Sproul, Mayor
Cell: 252-202-8837
Email: ben.sproul@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2021

Terry Gray, Commissioner
Cell: 252-256-1064
Email: tgray@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2021

Ivy Ingram, Commissioner
Cell: 252-256-0423
Email: ivy.ingram@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2023

B.J. McAvoy, Commissioner
Cell: 252-715-0267
Email: bj.mcavoy@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2023

John Windley, Commissioner
Cell: 252-902-4345
Email: jwindley@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2021

Gary Perry, Mayor
Phone: 252-261-5332
Term ends Dec 2021

Craig Garriss, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-261-4922
Term ends Dec 2021

David Hines
Phone: 252-573-9547
Term ends Dec 2023

Lynne McClean
Phone: 252-202-9672
Term ends Dec 2023

Jeff Pruitt
Phone: 252-261-9055
Term ends Dec 2021

Bobby Owens, Mayor
Phone: 252-473-2721
Email: owens@townofmanteo.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Betty Selby, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone:
Email: bselby@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Darrell Collins
Phone: 252-473-1722
Email: dcollins@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2019

Richie Burke
Phone: 252-473-1986
Email: rburke@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Christine Walker
Phone: 252-423-1112
Email: cwalker@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2019

Jason Borland
Phone:
Email: jborland@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Eddie Mann
Phone: 252-216-7743
Email: emann@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Ben Cahoon, Mayor
Phone: 252-473-7396
Email: Ben.Cahoon@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Mike Siers, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-489-3861
Email: mike.siers@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Renee Cahoon
Phone: 252-441-4847
Email: renee.cahoon@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Webb Fuller
Phone: 252-305-9322
Email: Webb.Fuller@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Kevin Brinkley
Phone:
Email: Kevin.brinkley@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Email: council@southernshores-nc.gov

Tom Bennett, Mayor
Email: tbennett@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Elizabeth Morey, Mayor Pro Tem
Email: emorey@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Jim Conners
Email: jconners@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Leo Holland
Email: lholland@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Matt Neal
Email: mneal@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023