Elected Representatives

The elected officials listed here serve you. The Dare County Democratic Party encourages you to contact them about issues that matter to you.

Although the contact information below is thorough, not every official has information about every form of contact. If you have trouble contacting a particular official, email us at info@daredemocrats.com, and we’ll try to connect you.

Roy Cooper, III
Governor (D)
Phone: 919-814-2000
Email:  https://governor.nc.gov/contact/contact-governor-cooper
Website

Dan Forest
Lieutenant Governor (R)
Phone:  919-814-3680
Email:  https://ltgov.nc.gov/contact-us
Website

Our congressional representatives have offices within the state as well as in Washington. You can find all office addresses, plus phone and fax numbers, at Contacting Congress.

Richard M. Burr
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-3154
Fax:  202-228-2981
Email:  https://www.burr.senate.gov/contact/email
Website

Thom Tillis
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-6342
Email:  https://www.tillis.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/email-me
Website

Greg Murphy
U.S. Representative for North Carolina, District 3 (R)
Phone: (202) 225-3415
Email Greg
Website

Bob Steinburg
NC Senator, District 1 (R)
Phone:  919-715-8293
Email:  Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net
NCGA website

Bobby Hanig
NC Representative, District 6 (R)
Phone:  919-733-5906
Email:  Bobby.Hanig@ncleg.net
NCGA website

Robert Woodard
Chair, District 2
Email: woodard@darenc.com

Wally Overman
Vice Chair, District 1
Email: wallyo@darenc.com

Ervin Bateman
Commissioner, District 5 (at large)
Email: ervinbateman@darenc.com

Steve House
Commissioner, District 3
Email: steve.house@darenc.com

Rob Ross
Commissioner, District 2
Email: Rob.Ross@darenc.com

Jim Tobin
Commissioner, District 1
Email: Jim.Tobin@darenc.com

Danny Couch 
Commissioner, District 4
Email: dannyc@darenc.com

Bea Basnight
Chair, District 1 (Mainland, Roanoke Island)
Term: 7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Phone:  252-473.3856
Fax:  252-473-2292
Email: beabasnight@aol.com

Margaret Lawler
Vice Chair, District 3 (Kitty Hawk, Southern Shores, Duck)
Term:  12/11/18 – 11/30/22
Phone:  252-261-5482
Email: emrwb5@gmail.com

Mary Ellon Ballance
Representative, District 4 (Hatteras Island)
Term:  7/01/16 – 11/30/20
Cell:  252-305-2685
Email: maryellon@me.com

Representative, District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 7/01/16 – 11/30/20
Phone:  
Fax:  
Email: 

Joe Tauber
Representative, District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 12/11/18- 11/30/22
Phone:  410-491-9735
Fax:  252-255-0631
Email:  joetauberlaw@yahoo.com

David Twiddy
Representative, District 5 (at large)
Term: 7/01/16 – 11/30/20
Phone:  252-473-3827 (h); 252-473-7533 (c)
Fax:  252-473-2778
Email: dstwiddy@gmail.com

Frank Hester
Representative, District 1 (Mainland, Roanoke Island)
Term: 12/11/18 – 11/30/22
Cell: 252-489-0847
Email: frankhester.d1@gmail.com

Don Kingston, Mayor
Phone: 252-255-4817
Email: don.kingston@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Monica Thibodeau, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-261-6278
Email: monica.thibodeau@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Sandy Whitman
Phone: 252-715-1186
Email: sandy.whitman@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Rob Mooney
Phone: 646-489-4458
Email: rob.mooney@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Nancy Caviness
Phone: 252-255-8124
Email: nancy.caviness@townofduck.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Ben Sproul, Mayor
Cell: 252-202-8837
Email: ben.sproul@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2021

Terry Gray, Commissioner
Cell: 252-256-1064
Email: tgray@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2021

Ivy Ingram, Commissioner
Cell: 252-256-0423
Email: ivy.ingram@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2023

B.J. McAvoy, Commissioner
Cell: 252-715-0267
Email: bj.mcavoy@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2023

John Windley, Commissioner
Cell: 252-902-4345
Email: jwindley@kdhnc.com
Term Ends: December 2021

Gary Perry, Mayor
Phone: 252-261-5332
Term ends Dec 2021

Craig Garriss, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-261-4922
Term ends Dec 2021

David Hines
Phone: 252-573-9547
Term ends Dec 2023

Lynne McClean
Phone: 252-202-9672
Term ends Dec 2023

Jeff Pruitt
Phone: 252-261-9055
Term ends Dec 2021

Bobby Owens, Mayor
Phone: 252-473-2721
Email: owens@townofmanteo.com
Term ends Dec 2021

Betty Selby, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone:
Email: bselby@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Darrell Collins
Phone: 252-473-1722
Email: dcollins@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2019

Richie Burke
Phone: 252-473-1986
Email: rburke@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Christine Walker
Phone: 252-423-1112
Email: cwalker@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2019

Jason Borland
Phone:
Email: jborland@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Eddie Mann
Phone: 252-216-7743
Email: emann@manteonc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Ben Cahoon, Mayor
Phone: 252-473-7396
Email: Ben.Cahoon@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Mike Siers, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-489-3861
Email: mike.siers@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Renee Cahoon
Phone: 252-441-4847
Email: renee.cahoon@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Webb Fuller
Phone: 252-305-9322
Email: Webb.Fuller@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Kevin Brinkley
Phone:
Email: Kevin.brinkley@nagsheadnc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Email: council@southernshores-nc.gov

Tom Bennett, Mayor
Email: tbennett@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Elizabeth Morey, Mayor Pro Tem
Email: emorey@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Jim Conners
Email: jconners@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2021

Leo Holland
Email: lholland@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023

Matt Neal
Email: mneal@southernshores-nc.gov
Term ends Dec 2023