The elected officials listed here serve you. The Dare County Democratic Party encourages you to contact them about issues that matter to you.

Although the contact information below is thorough, not every official has information about every form of contact. If you have trouble contacting a particular official, email us at info@daredemocrats.com, and we’ll try to connect you.


White House leaders

Donald Trump
President (R)
Phone: 202-456-1111
Email:  https://www.whitehouse.gov/contact
Website

Mike Pence
Vice President (R)
Phone:  202-456-7000
Email:  https://www.whitehouse.gov/contact
Website


U.S. representatives

Our congressional representatives have offices within the state as well as in Washington. You can find all office addresses, plus phone and fax numbers, at Contacting Congress.

Richard M. Burr
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-3154
Fax:  202-228-2981
Email:  https://www.burr.senate.gov/contact/email
Website

Thom Tillis
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-6342
Email:  https://www.tillis.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/email-me
Website

Walter B. Jones, Jr.
U.S. Representative for North Carolina, District 3 (R)
Phone:  202-225-3415
Fax:  202-225-3286
Email:  https://jones.house.gov/contact-me/email-me
Website


North Carolina representatives

Bill Cook
NC Senator, District 1 (R)
Phone:  919-715-8293
Email:  Bill.Cook@ncleg.net
NCGA website

Beverly G. Boswell
NC Representative, District 6 (R)
Phone:  919-733-5906
Email:  Beverly.Boswell@ncleg.net
NCGA website


Dare County Board of Commissioners

Robert Woodard
Chair, District 2
Email: woodard@darenc.com

Wally Overman
Vice Chair, District 1
Email: wallyo@darenc.com

Jack Shea
Commissioner, District 5 (at large)
Email: jshea@darenc.com

Steve House
Commissioner, District 3
Email: steve.house@darenc.com

Rob Ross
Commissioner, District 2
Email: Rob.Ross@darenc.com

Jim Tobin
Commissioner, District 1
Email: Jim.Tobin@darenc.com

Danny Couch
Commissioner, District 4
Email: dannyc@darenc.com


Dare County Board of Education members

Bea Basnight
Chair, District 1 (Mainland, Roanoke Island)
Term: 7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Phone:  252-473.3856
Fax:  252-473-2292
Email: beabasnight@aol.com

Margaret Lawler
Vice Chair, District 3 (Kitty Hawk, Southern Shores, Duck)
Term:  7/01/14 – 6/30/18
Phone:  252-261-5482
Email: emrwb5@gmail.com

Mary Ellon Ballance
Representative, District 4 (Hatteras Island)
Term:  7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Cell:  252-305-2685
Fax:  252-986-0104
Email: maryellon@me.com

Ben Sproul
Representative, District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Phone:  252-441-1010 (h); 252-480-3128 (w)
Fax:  252-441-1769
Email: ben.sproul@icloud.com

Joe Tauber
Representative, District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 7/01/14- 6/30/18
Phone:  410-491-9735
Fax:  252-255-0631
Email:  joetauberlaw@yahoo.com

David Twiddy
Representative, District 2 (at large)
Term: 7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Phone:  252-473-3827 (h); 252-473-7533 (c)
Fax:  252-473-2778
Email: dstwiddy@gmail.com

Charlotte White
Representative, District 1 (Mainland, Roanoke Island)
Term: 7/01/14 – 6/30/18
Phone: 252-267-6116
Fax:  252-475-1867
Email: cwhite@thesurcharge.com


Municipal officials

Duck Council

Don Kingston, Mayor
Phone: 252-255-4817
Term ends Dec 2019

Monica Thibodeau, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-261-6278
Term ends Dec 2019

Jon Britt
Phone: 252-261-7485
Term ends Dec 2019

Chuck Burdick
Phone: 252-202-5748
Term ends Dec 2019

Nancy Caviness
252-255-1050
Term ends Dec 2019


Kill Devil Hills commissioners

Sheila F. Davies, Mayor
Phone: 252-475-0033
Term ends Dec 2019

Mike Hogan, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-256-0036
Term ends Dec 2019

Terry Gray
Phone: 252-256-1064
Term ends Dec 2019

John Windley
Phone: 252-902-4345
Term ends Dec 2021


Kitty Hawk council

Gary Perry, Mayor
Phone: 252-261-5332
Term ends Dec 2021

Craig Garriss, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-261-4922
Term ends Dec 2021

Ervin Bateman
Phone: 252-202-1072
Term ends Dec 2019

Lynne McClean
Phone: 252-202-9672
Term ends Dec 2019

Jeff Pruitt
Phone: 252-261-9055
Term ends Dec 2021


Manteo commissioners

Bobby Owens, Mayor
Phone: 252-473-2721
Term ends Dec 2019

Darrell Collins, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-473-1722
Term ends Dec 2019

Richie Burke
Phone: 252-473-1985
Term ends Dec 2021

Hannon Fry
Phone: 252-475-1717
Term ends Dec 2019

Nancy Peele
Phone: 252-473-3175
Term ends Dec 2019

Christine Walker
Phone: 252-473-4788
Term ends Dec 2021

Eddie Mann
Phone: 252-216-7743
Term ends Dec 2021


Nags Head commissioners

Ben Cahoon, Mayor
Phone: 252-473-7396
Term ends Dec 2021

Susie Walters, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-441-9218
Term ends Dec 2019

Renee Cahoon
Phone: 252-441-4847
Term ends Dec 2019

Webb Fuller
Phone: 252-305-9322
Term ends Dec 2021

Mike Siers
Phone: 252-489-3861
Term ends Dec 2021


Southern Shores council
Email: council@southernshores-nc.gov

Tom Bennett, Mayor
Phone: 252-261-2511
Term ends Dec 2021

Chris Nason, Mayor Pro Tem
Phone: 252-489-3614
Term ends Dec 2019

Jim Conners
Phone: 252-202-1508
Term ends Dec 2021

Gary McDonald
Phone: 252-261-0209
Term ends Dec 2019

Fred Newberry
Phone: 252-564-5108
Term ends Dec 2019