The elected officials listed here serve you. The Dare County Democratic Party encourages you to contact them about issues that matter to you.

Although the contact information below is thorough, not every official has information about every form of contact. If you have trouble contacting a particular official, email us at info@daredemocrats.com, and we’ll try to connect you.


White House leaders

Donald Trump
President (R)
Phone: 202-456-1111
Email:  https://www.whitehouse.gov/contact
Website

Mike Pence
Vice President (R)
Phone:  202-456-7000
Email:  https://www.whitehouse.gov/contact
Website


U.S. representatives

Our congressional representatives have offices within the state as well as in Washington. You can find all office addresses, plus phone and fax numbers, at Contacting Congress.

Richard M. Burr
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-3154
Fax:  202-228-2981
Email:  https://www.burr.senate.gov/contact/email
Website

Thom Tillis
U.S. Senator for North Carolina (R)
Phone:  202-224-6342
Email:  https://www.tillis.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/email-me
Website

Walter B. Jones, Jr.
U.S. Representative for North Carolina, District 3 (R)
Phone:  202-225-3415
Fax:  202-225-3286
Email:  https://jones.house.gov/contact-me/email-me
Website


North Carolina representatives

Bill Cook
NC Senator, District 1 (R)
Phone:  919-715-8293
Email:  Bill.Cook@ncleg.net
NCGA website

Beverly G. Boswell
NC Representative, District 6 (R)
Phone:  919-733-5906
Email:  Beverly.Boswell@ncleg.net
NCGA website


Dare County Board of Commissioners

Robert Woodard
Chair, District 2
Email: woodard@darenc.com

Wally Overman
Vice Chair, District 1
Email: wallyo@darenc.com

Jack Shea
Commissioner, District 5 (at large)
Email: jshea@darenc.com

Steve House
Commissioner, District 3
Email: steve.house@darenc.com

Rob Ross
Commissioner, District 2
Email: Rob.Ross@darenc.com

Jim Tobin
Commissioner, District 1
Email: Jim.Tobin@darenc.com

Danny Couch
Commissioner, District 4
Email: dannyc@darenc.com


Dare County Board of Education members

Bea Basnight
Chair, District 1 (Mainland, Roanoke Island)
Term: 7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Phone:  252-473.3856
Fax:  252-473-2292
Email: beabasnight@aol.com

Margaret Lawler
Vice Chair, District 3 (Kitty Hawk, Southern Shores, Duck)
Term:  7/01/14 – 6/30/18
Phone:  252-261-5482
Email: emrwb5@gmail.com

Mary Ellon Ballance
Representative, District 4 (Hatteras Island)
Term:  7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Cell:  252-305-2685
Fax:  252-986-0104
Email: maryellon@me.com

Ben Sproul
Representative, District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Phone:  252-441-1010 (h); 252-480-3128 (w)
Fax:  252-441-1769
Email: ben.sproul@icloud.com

Joe Tauber
Representative, District 2 (Nags Head, Colington, Kill Devil Hills)
Term: 7/01/14- 6/30/18
Phone:  410-491-9735
Fax:  252-255-0631
Email:  joetauberlaw@yahoo.com

David Twiddy
Representative, District 2 (at large)
Term: 7/01/16 – 6/30/20
Phone:  252-473-3827 (h); 252-473-7533 (c)
Fax:  252-473-2778
Email: dstwiddy@gmail.com

Charlotte White
Representative, District 1 (Mainland, Roanoke Island)
Term: 7/01/14 – 6/30/18
Phone: 252-267-6116
Fax:  252-475-1867
Email: cwhite@thesurcharge.com


Municipal officials

Duck Council

Donald P. Kingston, Mayor
Phone: 252-255-4817
Term expires: 2019

Chuck Burdick
Phone: 252-202-5748
Term expires: 2019

Nancy Caviness
Phone: 252-255-8124
Term expires: 2019

Jonathan Britt
Phone: 252-202-6880
Term expires: 2019

Monica Thibodeau
Phone: 252-261-6278
Term expires: 20ç


Kill Devil Hills commissioners

Sheila Davies, Mayor
Phone: 252-475-0033
Term expires: 12/2019

Terry Gray
Term expires: 12/2021

John Windley
Term expires: 12/2021

Brandi Rheubottom
Phone: 252-449-8546
Term expires: 12/2019

Mike Hogan
Phone: 252-441-6493
Term expires: 12/2019


Kitty Hawk council

Gary Perry, Mayor
Phone: 252-261-5332
Term expires: 2021

Lynne McClean
Phone: 252-202-9672
Term expires: 2019

Craig Garriss
Phone: 252-261-4922
Term expires: 2021

Ervin Bateman
Phone: 252-261-6892
Term expires: 2019

Jeff Pruitt
Phone: 252-261-9055
Term expires: 2021


Manteo commissioners

Bobby Owens, Mayor
Term expires: 2019

Darrell Collins
Term expires: 2019

Hannon Fry
Term expires: 2019
Phone: 252-475-1717

Christine Walker
Term expires: 2019
Phone: 252-216-6144

Eddie Mann, Jr
Term expires: 2019
Phone: 252-256-0564

Richie Burke
Term expires: 2019
Phone: 252-473-1986

Nancy Peele
Term expires: 2019
Phone: 252-473-3175


Nags Head commissioners

Ben Cahoon, Mayor
Term expires: 2021

Susie Walters
Email: susie.walters@nagsheadnc.gov
Term expires: 2019

Webb Fuller
Term expires: 2021

Michael Siers
Term expires: 2021

Renee Cahoon
Email: renee.cahoon@nagsheadnc.gov
Term expires: 2019


Southern Shores council
Email: council@southernshores-nc.gov

Tom Bennett, Mayor
Email: tbennett@southernshores-nc.gov
Term expires: 2021

Fred Newberry
Email: fnewberry@southernshores-nc.gov
Term expires: 2019

Jim Conners
Term expires: 2021

Gary McDonald
Email: gmcdonald@southernshores-nc.gov
Term expires: 2019

Christopher Nason
Email: cnason@southernshores-nc.gov
Term expires: 2019